2023 Phoenix Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2023 Phoenix Award Winners! The awards reflect the progression of brownfield redevelopment over the past 20+ years by recognizing extraordinary practitioners and projects. What was once a niche activity has grown into a practice area of its own with public, private, and nonprofit practitioners across the country focused solely on brownfields as an essential function of planning, economic development, environmental quality, and community development.

The 2023 Phoenix Awards were presented in Detroit on August 9th, 2023, sponsored by the Mannik & Smith Group.

People Awards

  • Elliot Laws – Charlie Bartsch Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Cathy Barta – Linda Garczynski Brownfields Person of the Year

  • Rebecca Otte – State & Local Brownfield Leader

  • Trey Hess – Brownbreaker